Join our Premium Membership now and save with Xpres, Listawood, Ink Experts, Ink Express and more! Just £10 per year.....Click the Membership link above.....

User Tag List

Similar Threads

1. Pressing onto these
    By enabled in forum Vinyl & Flock
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2016, 10:40 AM
  2. Post pressing problems
    By paul 44 in forum Printing Problems/Issues
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2015, 08:20 PM
  3. iPhone Pressing :/
    By Mossy88 in forum Heat Presses
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 27-11-2012, 09:09 PM
  4. pressing plaques
    By hakuna in forum Heat Presses
    Last Post: 27-04-2012, 07:58 PM
  5. PROBLEMS with pressing latte mugs
    By PJames in forum Mug Presses & Ovens
    Last Post: 13-11-2011, 10:19 PM
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Problems with mug pressing.

Good day one and all.

Firstly by way of introduction I am a newbie to printing. I have invested in the cheaper end of the market, I bought a Pixmax bundle from Monstershop as a start but I expect to be upgrading once things kick off!

I have the Ricoh 2100 with refillable inks. I also purchased their ICC profile to go with the ink and I am printing onto Texprint paper. The recommended times and temps were 400 degrees Fahrenheit and 6 minutes. All the YT video I have seen is with protective paper around the mug.

I pressed my first mug And the results were, at best, average. Firstly the protection paper burned as did the back of the printing paper, and the white image area looked warm, presumably from the scorched paper. The text looked a bit fuzzy although I would suggest the pressures were quite high.

The mugs I was printing onto were 10oz Durhams that were given away with the bundle so I do not expect great things from them(one has a damaged surface on the ceramic).

So my question really is, can I be running a lower temperature and timings and would better mugs help?

I will try to post up some images..