Join our Premium Membership now and save with Xpres, Listawood, Ink Experts, Ink Express and more! Just £10 per year.....Click the Membership link above.....

User Tag List

Similar Threads

1. PU coating
    By tracyreed in forum General Dye-Sub Chit Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 13-02-2015, 10:26 PM
  2. sublimation coating
    By Wally in forum Sourcing New Items
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-03-2014, 01:43 AM
  3. Sublimation coating for Blank Polyester
    By frazzle in forum Reviews Section
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-08-2013, 10:14 AM
  4. Sublimation Coating
    By Steve in forum General Dye-Sub Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 07:17 PM
  5. Sublimation Coating
    By Andrew in forum Sourcing New Items
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 04:05 PM
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How durable is sublimation coating? Any experience in coating your own substrates?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this site and also pretty new to sublimation printing, so please forgive any ignorance on my part. I'm hoping some kind souls might share their experience with me, and save me many wasted hours in futile projects! I have a few specific questions...

1) how durable is the print that is acheived through dye sublimation? Specifically I am thinking of metal items such as lighters, keyrings, business cards etc, things that get knocked about in use. Does the polymer coating wear off and scratch? How quickly / badly?

2) depending on the answer to the above, has anyone had any experience of applying a coating after printing to protect the surface? I'm thinking something like an automotive lacquer perhaps?