PDA

View Full Version : Dark t shirt printing

themojo
13-12-2014, 05:38 AM
I am very new to Dye sub, could anybody please help....I wish to print onto dark t shirts, how would I go about it? Also if I want to print on slate, I realise it has to be a white surface, so what type of paint would I use, would acrylic be ok, many thanks

soulclaimed
13-12-2014, 09:24 AM
Hi sublimation is not suitable if you wish to print directly onto dark garments as when dark or black tshirts are printed a white layer is required. Sublimation flock is available to.print and press to your garment and there are also dark transfers available for inkjet and laser printers. There's also vinyl that can be cut with a vinyl cutter and pressed. There's screenprinting or plastisol screenprinting transfers. Sublimation slates are coated for sublimation printing acrylic paint will not work. Please take some time to look through the forum you will find answers to all of your questions and if it hasn't been asked before or you struggle people here are all happy to help. Had to edit to make things clearer sublimation needs to be done on polyester or polyester coated items not just a white layer.

themojo
13-12-2014, 10:18 AM
Can the ppolyester coating be done by me

soulclaimed
13-12-2014, 10:59 AM
You can bu a coating spray but it's like 17 quid a can and I hear it's pretty hit and miss.

themojo
13-12-2014, 11:14 AM
So i guess i would not be able to print even on ordinary plates or mugs, i dont know how people make a living in this business, i really appreciate your help though, many thanks

soulclaimed
13-12-2014, 11:26 AM