PDA

View Full Version : Canvas printing with ink jet printers

morrowmedia
31-08-2010, 08:07 PM
Hey, sorry if there is a topic which covers this already but I havent found exactly what i'm looking for yet.
I'm new to canvas printing and would like to know what type of inkjet printers can print canvases or can all potentially?
I currently have an hp photosmart c5280 but am thinking about getting a better printer if I am going to start into canvases.

Would I need a certain type of ink or canvas material for inkjet printers?
Would I be better going down the dye sublimation route of canvases?
Are there any printers people would recommend?
Are A3 printers better for this?

Any advice is great please :D

bms
31-08-2010, 08:23 PM
You can print onto canvas with sublimation printing, but you'll be restricted to the size of your printer/ heat press for the size you want to print onto. You can also get inkjet printable canvas for larger printers - it depends on what size prints you want to do. An A3 Epson sublimation printer will produce a 13" x 19" (approx) print which can go onto a 16" x 10" frame (with the print returned around the edges).

If you want to go bigger then you'll need a bigger printer...

morrowmedia
31-08-2010, 10:11 PM
right so if I use a sublimation printer I will need a heat press also?
But I take it this process is better than using an inkjet printer??
Are there any inkjet printers which you would recommend to use for canvas printing. A3.

Thanks a lot for your help by the way!
It is very much appreciated, i've been on the bms website there also which is helpful!

bms
31-08-2010, 10:18 PM
right so if I use a sublimation printer I will need a heat press also?
Yes you will

But I take it this process is better than using an inkjet printer??
No, I think the direct to canvas printing would produce a better result, but then you have a print possibly for just one main purpose.