PDA

View Full Version : Grainy images

joannemi
09-09-2010, 09:30 AM
Hi all

I am new to both the forum and to sublimation printing and need a spot of advice.
I am attempting to print black and white photos onto a sublimation mug and the image is coming out grainy. As well as coming out grainy occasionally the black ink looks blue..
I am using a Epson D92 printer.
I have tried various times of transfer from 3 minutes to 4 minutes and it doesn't seem to make any difference. I have also tried putting the mug in tepid water after and again no difference.

I am thinking maybe it is down to the printer and I should buy a better model

Help?

Andrew
09-09-2010, 09:40 AM
What profile are you using for the printer?

Also, are you printing on the correct side of the paper and what paper is it?

joannemi
09-09-2010, 09:47 AM
I am not sure what profile I am using how can I check?

I bought the whole package off a guy on ebay and it came with paper. The paper was in a brown box with no writing on so again not sure what kind it is. I have been searching the web and checked the paper to see if one side was whiter then the other or if one side seemed sticky and both sides seem the same and neither are stickier then the other. I was going to buy some different paper and have a go..

I am using photoshop cs4

joannemi
09-09-2010, 09:49 AM
I am also printing text and that is coming out perfect

Andrew
09-09-2010, 10:05 AM
Hi Joanne,

You possibly need to download the correct profile. Some of the suppliers might have this or quite often it is available from the Sawgrass website. When you click print and do any settings etc. what program is that in?

The paper used is of a specific type. It is basically a carrier paper that holds the ink on the surface to allow it to be transfered correctly. This usually takes place correctly on one side only. I know some papers you can hardly tell the difference. How does the image look on the paper once printed? Is it grainy then?

Good luck,