PDA

View Full Version : Printing problems

MissyH
09-09-2010, 06:05 PM
Hi there I am new to this and just wanted to know if some one more experienced can tell me where I am going wrong, I am printing on an epsom sx405 using sublimation inks and paper, but when I print and press on mugs the colours come out all wrong (too red in most cases), and sometimes look blothchy and also the printer prints lines that arent noticable on the paper but are very noticable on the mugs! :-( I have seen a few other people commenting on the same but as yet I have not found a solution, I have read something about using the right "profile" when printing but I am not sure what is meant by this, please can some one help me.

bms
09-09-2010, 06:09 PM
You may have a couple of problems to sort out here. The first is the colouration issue and you need a colour correction profile for your printer. Unfotunately the SX405 isn't a supported sublimation printer so there isn't a profile provided for this. I'd suggest you get in contact with your supplier and see what they have to say as you'll need something to manage the colours correctly.

The other issue - the banding - can often be corrected by head cleans and nozzle checks. Sometimes remove the high speed print option helps as well. If these don't solve the problem then in may be the SX405 isn't up to sublimation ink (I hope this isn't the case for your sake) but the manufacturer of inks tests various printers for robustness and reliability (okay some may take issue with this :) ) and if they prove too problematic then they aren't supported.

MissyH
09-09-2010, 06:12 PM
Um ok thanks for this, please can you suggest to me a better printer to use?

bms
09-09-2010, 07:24 PM
The A4 models are either the Epson B40W or the Ricoh GXe3300. The Ricoh being the cheaper of the two machines to purchase initially.

louise020171
05-10-2010, 12:57 AM
Hi,