PDA

View Full Version : Advice on transfer papers, light and dark.

Kevdog
09-03-2016, 10:04 PM
Hi all, newbie here looking for some advice on light and dark transfer papers.
No1, I'm currently using transfer paper from a company called mdp, now I have to say I'm not having much luck. The light paper is driving me insane with it removing half my print or not being able to pull the backing paper away after pressing.
Now the dark I've had better results but I'm not convinced either the paper or me is working properly. I have found that after a few washes either the print comes off certain areas(only small at present) or the colours seem to fade.

I'm using an epson xp760 printer, first with original inks then tried aftermarket inks.
I am also using a heat press to press with.

No2, Can somebody talk me through how they go about this from start to finish Inc any difference they may change in press times, heat settings, printer settings.

No3, Can anybody explain how these transfer papers work? This may sound a stupid question but it may help me understand what I might need to alter to achieve a good finished job, I.e does the heat not only stick them but activate the colour finish.

Sorry for such a big ask.

Justin
09-03-2016, 10:57 PM
I've had some great results with Xpres papers but these are through a colour laser printer. Not an expensive printer at all, I use the Oki C511dn.

You do need a good press with some of the papers as a heavy pressure can be required.

Sorry, that probably doesn't answer your question......

Kevdog
09-03-2016, 11:04 PM
Admittedly my press is not the best but has never failed me using htv in any form, just seems to be the transfer papers. I have no idea who makes the product I use as it's unbranded and comes in a clear zip bag with 10 sheets per bag.

mags1892
10-03-2016, 08:45 AM
YOLO neenah papers are brilliant very soft feel to them

soulclaimed
10-03-2016, 08:11 PM