PDA

View Full Version : USB to serial????

Flash
27-10-2010, 09:30 PM
Hi Guy's,
I could use some help here, please.
I have been running a Foison Vinyl Cutter quite happily for over 3 years now, but recently during operation I have heard a few strange 'grinding' noises coming from the machine :shock:
I have aquired a DGI New Star OM-60 Vinyl Cutter to replace the Foison when it finally decides to die!
The problem, the DGI came supplied with a Serial -Serial cable and my computer does not have a Serial output!
I assumed that I needed a USB - Serial cable but it appears that there are different types for different applications :roll: For example: A USB - Serial cable for a printer would be different to that needed for a Vinyl Cutter. It sounds like different manufacturers 'cross-over' wires within the cable, if this makes sense.
Can anyone on here shed any light on my situation as I could really use some help with this before my Foison dies!!!!
Many thanks in advance.

Phil

thespringonion
27-10-2010, 10:18 PM
Foison in fact is a serial device, it does have a built-in usb to serial convertor, but strictly speaking it's not hot plug n play.

Something like this should do the trick http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-2-0-RS232-SER ... 19bfef4983 (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/USB-2-0-RS232-SERIAL-DB9-9-PIN-ADAPTER-CABLE-GPS-NEW-/110594312579?pt=UK_Computing_CablesConnectors_RL&hash=item19bfef4983)

The serial output is controlled by software on the PC (driver) and should be compliant with standard RS232, hence there shouldn't be any wiring problems. Might have to tinker with baudrates.etc. to get it running sweet.

Flash
28-10-2010, 03:59 PM
Foison in fact is a serial device, it does have a built-in usb to serial convertor, but strictly speaking it's not hot plug n play.