PDA

View Full Version : Subli t - platen marks remain after printing.

Shipz
01-11-2010, 10:15 AM
Hey everyone.

I'm new to all this so sorry if its ground you have covered before.

I have a Ricoh GX 7000 printer and a 15" x 20" heat press which i bought from Xpres. I also use their sub paper too.

I am starting out offering various types of t - shirt printing (amongst other things ) and would love to be able to offer printing onto sub t-shirts. The thing is although i have the equipment i am stuggling to get results i like, so as a result i don't feel confident in offering this printing method to my customers.

The images themselves are acceptable but each time i press i am left with the footprint of the top platen on the shirt surface. I initially thought it would disappear but this is not the case. I have also tried reducing the pressure, to the extent where it is minimal but i am still getting the same results.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks Dave

R.Prints
01-11-2010, 10:20 AM
I always get the same when doing clothing, don't worry it will dissapear in the first wash, or you could iron the item to minimize marking.

Shipz
01-11-2010, 11:10 AM
Thanks for the response.

I'm afraid i have already tried this.Because the marks didnt disappear i tried washing the shirts a couple of times but the marks are still there. I haven't tried ironing though.

i did read somewhere that you can buy some foam that you insert into the shirt underneath the transfer you are pressing and this might reduce this. As anyone heard or used this method?

TransferGraeme
01-11-2010, 11:24 AM
Hi

The first thing I would suggest is reducing the pressure - with subli printing all you need is a firm and constant contact between transfer and shirt, it's not like standard transfer printing.

You will also find that putting another t-shirt on the base of the press will help to even out the pressure.