PDA

View Full Version : Business Start-up needs a new PC - please advise

wilde-one
09-04-2018, 10:12 AM
So, as a total newbie I am looking for a new PC for my new business ........ and I'm not too embarrassed to say that I'm not particularly educated in this area so any advice is gratefully received.

I want a reliable and fast system - I do not foresee hugely complicated designs or huge files. I will (probably) be running Corel Draw X8.

Processor - I5, I7 or other?
Windows 10?
RAM: 8GB, 16GB, 32GB?
Storage: ?
SSD: ?
What makes are preferred?
Minimum monitor size?
Etc
Etc

I don't want to over spend on a system that far exceeds any requirements I will ever need but at the same time I want to ensure reliability and speed, and future proof as much as possible.

Equipment - tbc but I envisage a Oki Pro8432-WT laser printer, a Sawgrass SG-400, Graphtec CE6000 Plotter, a laser printer for admin - possibly laser engraving, embroidery or DTG in the future.

I really look forward to hearing from you all to help me avoid making costly mistakes. Thanks in advance.

webtrekker
09-04-2018, 10:26 AM
I've got 3 Win7 machines with i5 processors. Main machine has 2Tb internal drive with 8Gb ram. All 3 are reconditioned machines from ebay and the total cost was the same, or less than, a new machine.

You don't need high-end gear for this game. Yes, an SSD would be nice but I can live without it. Apart from work, I do a lot of processor-intensive stuff such as raytracing and running music DAW's such as Ableton Live and never have a problem.

A big advantage is that I have a dual monitor system on my main machine which I'd thoroughly recommend to anyone.

Justin
09-04-2018, 10:40 AM
My main PC I built a number of years back, i7, 32Gb RAM, SSD etc. It's a cracking machine but is overkill for sublimation etc.