PDA

View Full Version : Transfer media for complex 3d

DrCaustic
24-01-2019, 05:48 PM
Hi all! My name is Stephen and I do custom anodizing. I've been working on sublimating to anodize off and on for a few years now.(which might be a cool new medium for yall?) My trouble is that I often need to sub on very complex 3d shapes and paper just doesn't conform. I have tried two kinds of 3d films and even various fabrics. All provide me with the result in the attached picture. Also attached is the picture I'm trying to sub without the black skulls. It's almost like the dye reverses and goes even deeper into the transfer film. I suppose my question is what is it about the sub paper that seems to encourage the dye to transfer rather than to reverse coarse? Any and all input would be much appreciated!

Thank you so much!
Stephen

5564 5565

Andrew
24-01-2019, 08:17 PM
Hi. From the information given (and possibly not fully understanding), it looks like the is not enough of the polymer coating to hold the ink. I tried similar-ish cross process a few years back and it comes down to achieving enough polymer on of close to the surface where the ink holds securely.

What have you used as the coating to hold the subli ink?

DrCaustic
24-01-2019, 09:33 PM
Hi. From the information given (and possibly not fully understanding), it looks like the is not enough of the polymer coating to hold the ink. I tried similar-ish cross process a few years back and it comes down to achieving enough polymer on of close to the surface where the ink holds securely.

What have you used as the coating to hold the subli ink?

Howdy Andrew! I'm using unsealed anodizing to hold the sublimated ink. This is a microporous structure of aluminum oxide. It's essentially a sponge. Also I can get the substrate to take perfect sublimation if I'm using sublimation transfer paper. The problem is only only when I try to use the sublimation transfer films that will actually conform to the part.

Andrew