PDA

View Full Version : Mug press problem

KAD
07-01-2011, 02:21 PM
Hello all, I new to the forum as well as sublimation, I have a Epson B40W printer, mac using adobe Illustrator, I can't seem to print black onto mugs, have tried a number of times and temps but still having no joy, coming out brown, the longer it's in the press the darker it gets but never black, the best I get is at 200 degrees for 340 seconds which seems too high for too long, I'm brand new to this so I'm sure it's just a school boy error! Many thanks

Justin
07-01-2011, 05:44 PM
340 seconds seems a long time, I cook for around 180 secs at 180 degrees, have you tried going that low on time? I believe the Ricoh inks need less time and can brown if overcooked, what inks are you using?

KAD
07-01-2011, 06:39 PM
The inks are from Coralgraph, I've tried a number of ways ranging from 180d & 180 secs unto 205d & 350 secs, I'm now trying harder pressures, my paper and mugs are from Xpress. I seem to get the black ok on mouse mats on my 15x15, that's at 175 for 50 secs! It may also be that the printer profiles not right as I'm on mac & the installation instructions are for windows, I've just been testing & trying the profiles that are already on Adobe, I'm guessing this is my problem, if anyone does know of these for mac, would love to hear from you, thanks again. This is the first forum I've ever joined & I can't believe how much people still actually help each other out without any benefit to themselves, Brill!

bms
07-01-2011, 07:52 PM
I think you're way too hot for too long.

Can you let us know what printer your using and what inks? Is it a Ricoh printer? If so then you need to take your temp down to around 170 and the time back to around 120-150 seconds.