PDA

View Full Version : whats the best way to bring in business?

smitch6
20-01-2011, 06:53 PM
hiya i'm fairly new to all this
i have a Christian forum and chat room and have had the shop attached to that for a while
but only did embroidery and the odd other bit
i've now ventured out into the sub world :)
and have re-loaded the shop stock and opened a business ebay ac.

what is the best way to try and gain business?
i see from other threads that shops are slow is ebay slow as well?

how do you bring in your business

i really want this to work i love making things and seeing ppl happy with a personalised gift etc.

and i have spent a lot of money getting all the equipment to get going so can't afford to spend loads more out :(

Ian M
20-01-2011, 08:29 PM
Steve,

Please don't get me wrong but if we all knew the answer to your question we'd all be relaxing on our yachts.

The hard truth is you have to get out there & sell yourself & your business.

Ian

DREAMGLASS
20-01-2011, 08:44 PM
what is the best way to try and gain business?
i see from other threads that shops are slow is ebay slow as well?(
It really depends on what you are selling, the level of competition, your pricing, plus of course the demand for the product.

Problem with eBay in particular, is the very high costs involved. They'll take money off you for the shop, the listings and a substantial cut of the final sales value. It is paying the listing fees for all the items that DON'T sell that really ramps up the costs. On top of that is the ever puntive rules from an organisation that has forgotten who actually generates their income for them. That's why a lot of sellers have vacated eBay in their droves in recent times.

Unless you have a genuine talent for design and illustration, you need to have definitive plans in place as to what you are going to sell and why people are going to part with their cash to buy your product and how you are going to differentiate it from others selling a similar product.