PDA

View Full Version : Basic question - Which ink for transfers?

Sweetchuck87
24-01-2011, 03:31 PM
Hi, I am about to start doing t-shirt transfers for sale to the public but as yet I have no experience with it.

I have an epson D120 printer, can I use its standard ink (DuraBrite Ultra) to print a good quality t-shirt? Using standard transfer paper? I would need it to wash at least 5 times with no issues.

I have heard of using sublimation ink and sublimation transfer paper but is that unnecessary? I hope so as i'm looking to keep the costs down.

Any input would be great!

AdamB
24-01-2011, 05:39 PM
Hi, I am about to start doing t-shirt transfers for sale to the public but as yet I have no experience with it.....

No offence - but perhaps you do a little more research before you start offering to the general public? There's loads of info on the forum (use the search facility with key-words) that will make some great reading of past questions (similar to yours).

A question though, if you are about to sell these transfers to the general public, what guarantees have you that they will last a couple of washes? I only ask as there isn't a 'transfer paper' out there (to my knowledge and I would love to be proved wrong) that will last with the garment.

bms
24-01-2011, 05:54 PM
I have an epson D120 printer, can I use its standard ink (DuraBrite Ultra) to print a good quality t-shirt? Using standard transfer paper? I would need it to wash at least 5 times with no issues.

Using the genuine Epson durabright ink you can print directly onto printable flex which is washable. Further details at:
http://www.printerowners.co.uk/garment-printing/561/printable-flex.htm

Sweetchuck87
24-01-2011, 09:30 PM
I'm trying to figure what all I need to buy to do some trial runs, and then offer the service from there once I reckon I can do it properly.