PDA

View Full Version : Are you ready for another newcomer?

Flash
29-11-2009, 09:20 PM
Hi guy's,
I found you through another Forum and your not going to be glad that I did!
I have been printing t-shirts for about two years now but over the last few months I have been drifting away from the t-shirt business and I have been getting into printing other less seasonal items ;)
My time has come to start considering printing mugs! I have been doing a little reading on this great resource as well as other Forum's and I think I am starting to get my head around Dye Sublimation Printing http://illiweb.com/fa/i/smiles/icon_cheers.png But I do have a few early questions before I start spending my hard-earned on equipment :?:

If I am going to be printing mostly mugs would you recommend a 4 colour printer? Which model should I go for?
I know nothing about ICC profiles, do I need to learn?
Should I start with a 'Budget' mug press to see if Mug Sublimating is for me or is this false economy?
Should I be buying my Sublimation Ink from Revolution Transfers, as they're the best prices I have found. Anyone using them?

Any more tips or 'I wish I had known that from the start' knowlege would be most appreciated.

Many thanks in advance and a big hello to you all.

Phil

Calypso Bay
29-11-2009, 09:31 PM
Hi Phil,

Welcome aboard. Im just like you, have just boarded and completely new to sublimation printing. Im in Lancashire and hoping to start off part time at a market stall on Saturday's and see what happens from there. I have a good sized garage/workshop to start from.

I am after a printer aswell and am thinking of the EPSON 1400, but still not sure which way to go.

i wish you all the best mate.

Calypso

theemmanewman
29-11-2009, 09:37 PM
Hi and welcome, I am new here too. I am no expert but if you are just doing mugs do you need an A3 printer? I have found my smaller Epson perfectly good for mugs only.

Flash
29-11-2009, 09:45 PM
Hi Phil,