PDA

View Full Version : Epson D22 printer

ady347
20-03-2011, 02:05 PM
hi, starting to get my bits together now, got a heat press, picked up a printer today for £40. I have read on here about profiles D88? can anyone tell me what this means.
I dont know if the inks that came with the printer are duralite ultra or not? i know the inks supplied only have very little ink in them

i am a complete newbee :tongue:

bms
20-03-2011, 02:21 PM
What are you expecting to do with this printer? You mention a heat press but what are you trying to achieve?

Justin
20-03-2011, 02:30 PM
Not heard of the D22....are you sure it's not an S22?

It sounds like you are setting up in sublimation as you mention the heat press. if this is the case then you'll need sublimation inks. The 'S22' isn't a supported printer for sublimation and at this time refillable cartridges aren't available.

Paul
20-03-2011, 03:28 PM
you can get ciss but is more expensive then printer.

Justin
20-03-2011, 03:32 PM
Personally I don't see this route being a good option for a newcomer to sublimation, better to start off with tried and tested kit.

Ian M
20-03-2011, 03:49 PM
I have to agree with Justin even though I have had some success using a S21 using the D88 profile. Trying to use a D22 may seem like a cheap option to start with but, once you have paid for a custom profile & inks etc it will become quite expensive compared to buying a supported printer from the outset.

Might be worth having a read of this thread that Jonathan wrote & having a chat with him as it could be a route to go down.
http://www.dyesubforum.co.uk/vbforum/showthread.php?1525-Brother-printers-for-sublimation-use.

ady347
20-03-2011, 08:02 PM
whoops wrong button! sorry it is epson S 22, i am doing heat transfers... i was just reading old threads and saw profile mentioned just wondered wot it meant?

im not doing sublimation? i was going to buy a S21 but was told it is replaced by a S22.