PDA

View Full Version : Epson 1290 red lights problem

06-12-2009, 05:07 PM
Hi all,

Im just getting into the dye sub world and i picked up an Epson 1290 in the process of getting all the equipment together.

Ive installed a new CISS for it but Im getting a continuous red light when the carts are in! Ive tried installing them by moving the transport unit to the left and then powering down - then installing the carts and power up again but it didnt work.

The printer already had a CISS with it but I decided to replace this because the printer had been dormant for quite a while and so i thought it best to start with a new CISS (the old one was the Sawgrass system, came with ink pouches!), so i put that system back in and guess what...no work! I know for a fact that the printer has been used and the ink pouches were all nearly empty, so its had some use and the previous owner said they had no issues. I totally trust them and theyre happy to take it back so im guessing that these new carts arent seated properly or the chips are faulty.

Am i barking up the right tree here re: cart seating? or does anyone else have any more info that could help me...its the Epson 1290.

Any useful replies are good ;)

cheers all
Dave.

Paul
06-12-2009, 06:00 PM
hi! it sounds like chip problem. I had this same problem. yelow cart chip was down so you need to replace whole ciss. also u can try swap chip from old ciss.

06-12-2009, 06:21 PM
hi, thanks for the reply.

For the Epson, the colour cart is an all in one, theres no seperate yellow cart so i cant see how its the chip for that. Thing is though, its brand new.

The old CISS system doesnt work either, i think it has a lot to do with the seating of the carts and the chips not touching the contacts. ive read that i could also use a cable tie to help hold the carts down, but to be honest, the carts were more than tightly in place anyway.

hmm...
Cheers
Dave.

Paul
06-12-2009, 06:31 PM