PDA

View Full Version : Microstock Images

dj_doubler
08-05-2011, 01:53 AM
Hi all,

As I am new to the sublimation game and dont have many hours left in the day to do alot of designing... what are your guys thoughts on buying the lisence to press onto the mugs?

Anthony

JSR
08-05-2011, 09:55 AM
I haven't bought any to press onto mugs and things yet (but I'm considering it).

I have used microstock sites for other projects, though. The one I use the most is www.dreamstime.com. It's the only one I found that is totally clear about what you're allowed to do with the images and what to do if you want to do more things with them.

If you find an image you really like, you can pay for exclusivity or "buy the rights", which might be very useful if you want to avoid people copying your design. The only downside with that is that there are invariably "similar" images that might affect just how unique your design is.

There are plenty of other microstock sites out there.

daviddeer
10-05-2011, 11:35 AM
I quite agree. Some royalty free sites are quite devious about rights, costs etc. Royalty free doesn't always mean you can print them for commercial use (see wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stock_photography)). You could always invest in a good camera. Sometimes suppliers have ready made transfers an example here (http://www.targettransfers.com/d/0003/Target-Originals) or sub the work out, there are plenty of budding graphic designers on this forum.

JSR
10-05-2011, 11:50 AM
I quite agree. Some royalty free sites are quite devious about rights, costs etc. Royalty free doesn't always mean you can print them for commercial use (see wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stock_photography)). You could always invest in a good camera. Sometimes suppliers have ready made transfers an example here (http://www.targettransfers.com/d/0003/Target-Originals) or sub the work out, there are plenty of budding graphic designers on this forum.