PDA

View Full Version : Burning and smudging/bleeding and latte mugs

chucky
18-06-2011, 11:17 PM
Hi, I am totally new to mug sub. I bought a 5 in 1 machine, after a week of getting things right I can actually print something now. It been 1 step forward athen 2 steps back.

printed my first mug at 190c and 200 seconds ( as recomended). The paper came out burnt and the image and text came out yellow/brown and the text all yucky. popped it on the room temp water and it went crack but can't see a crack.

So then did a new mug at 180c 180 seconds, same thing come out burnt looking but I didn't put it in water but still came out sumdged/bleeding.

I didn't put a teflon paper around it as the instruction video man didn't.

Also the latte mug keeps slipping out of its holder when it warms up, so then I have to try and hold it in while it cooks.

So any suggestions would be great.

dj_doubler
19-06-2011, 12:04 AM
@Chucky can you tell us a couple of things...

1. What mug press are you using?
2. what inks are you using?

This will help us advise you... to me it looks like you are cooking for too long...

Anthony

purpledragon
19-06-2011, 12:33 AM
id say either too long or too hot or a combination of both also not enough pressure on the press its a bit oif trial n error you need before you crack it.(no pun intended)

smitch6
19-06-2011, 01:33 AM
the latte's are a pain to do and if i rem rightly a few ppl have commented about them before saying they had to hold them in cos they slip

i know i always have to physically hold them in the wrap or they go shooting out like a cork lol
they look good when done but really hard work i have half a box in the garage and NO latte mugs on my website now lol

mrs maggot
19-06-2011, 07:58 AM
are you taping the paper on well enough and tight enough ??

chucky
19-06-2011, 08:33 AM
its a max armour 5 in 1, so it has an attachment for the mug.
I am using Visi-Sub Sublimation Ink
I am scared to make it tighter in case it smashes

chucky