PDA

View Full Version : Is sublimation the only option for mugs?

TGal
16-08-2011, 09:23 PM
I'd like to start printing mugs but I have no experience of sublimation. I currently use inkjet transfer paper and occasionally the self-weeding laser papers. Can anyone tell me if there is an alternative to sublimation as I'm happy with the results I get with standard pigment ink on fabric and would rather not have to go down the sublimation route? I'm only wanting to produce small volumes of around 10-20 mugs per week.

John G
16-08-2011, 09:25 PM
If your doing those kind of volumes sub is the only way to go. You can do laser transfer but the end result, i've heard, is pretty poor and will scratch off easily.

TGal
16-08-2011, 09:41 PM
Sorry if this sounds stupid but what will I need?.... Will I need a printer dedicated to sublimation inks or can you interchange between sublimation and pigment ink? I really don't want to invest too much as I'm not sure what the demand will be.

Justin
16-08-2011, 09:44 PM
Dedicated printer with sublimations inks, A4 would be fine. You don't need to spend a fortune on either the printer or the mug press. The inks will appear to be quite expensive but when you see how long they last and how many mugs you can print with them they work out very cheap per print.

Mugs have a great mark up and you'd make the money back very quickly. When I started out I did everything except mugs, now 95% of my work is mugs.

Take a look at our Suppliers list http://www.dyesubforum.co.uk/vbforum/showthread.php?104-UK-Suppliers and also watch the Suppleirs section at the bottom of the forum for special offers.

Paul
16-08-2011, 10:05 PM