PDA

View Full Version : Inks and things for epson b1100

Jesus
19-11-2011, 09:16 PM
Hi guys im just getting started with sublimation T shirt printing and i have 3 printer related questions. Iv just bought an epson a3 b1100, and obviously ill be getting a ciss, ink and paper. Will any dye sub ink work well with this printer, will cheap ink give much worse results than expensive inks? im on a limited budget, so any recommendations are appreciated. also what is the best paper to use? I cant believe how much cheaper sub paper is compared to inkjet transfer paper. I was paying almost £1 per sheet of Jet Pro SS paper, sub papers are just 30p ish from what i have seen.
Sorry about the noob questions, i cant really find the answers to these with the search. Thanks in advance

Jesus

Paul
19-11-2011, 09:22 PM
have a look on here: (http://www.dyesubforum.co.uk/vbforum/showthread.php?1525-Brother-printers-for-sublimation-use.)
you can see some end results with 3rd party inks. mind tha you dont have ANY suport with "cheap" inks!

Justin
19-11-2011, 09:48 PM
Hi Jesus and welcome to the forum :-)Third party inks 'can' give superb results but as a noobie starting out I wouldn't advise this route. The A4 Ricoh option would get you up and running quickly and reliably.We don't discuss specific third party inks on this forum due to the small format printer patent imposed by Sawgrass. There's nothing to stop you experimenting with this option but as Paul mentions you get no official support if things go wrong.Many users start off trying to save money but end up spending more in the long term.....buy once and buy right.....start making your money back asap.

John G
19-11-2011, 09:55 PM
Where are you getting 30p sheets of paper from?

xpres paper is ideal and only 10p a sheet

Jesus
19-11-2011, 10:00 PM