PDA

View Full Version : No instructions in my heat press...

justme
12-09-2012, 11:01 PM
Hello,

I took delivery of this today http://www.printerowners.co.uk/hardware-equipment/693/30cm-x-38cm-swing-away-press.htm and it looks great..but I'm new to flat bed printing and have no idea how to use it!!! There were no instructions in the box...well there were, but they seemed to be for a mug press, cap press and plate press...none of which I have!

How do I know what is medium pressure, high pressure etc...at the moment, it seems so tight that it would crush anything!!

Also, what's the deal with the greaseproof paper (is that what it is?) that I see in some youtube videos? Also...even MORE stupid question...(I haven't turned it on yet - too scared to!)...which is the hot bit...the bottom bit or the swing away bit?! I don't even know which way up to put stuff!!

I know I'll have some wastage but I just don't want to mess up too much stuff or leave any marks on the press by doing the wrong thing...advice and guidance appreciated.

Thanks,
Charis

soulclaimed
13-09-2012, 12:12 AM
Its tefflon sheet do not press polyester tshirt without this or they will melt to your press! Also make sure you know if your in farenheit or celsius as some arrive in c but people often give heat setting tips in f

Paul
13-09-2012, 12:34 AM
Its tefflon sheet do not press polyester tshirt without this or they will melt to your press! Also make sure you know if your in farenheit or celsius as some arrive in c but people often give heat setting tips in f
this is most redicles thing i ever heard :-)
greaseproof paper is thin paper god know what is made of. Its to protect your platen. The hot bit in your press. Top bit :-)
Teflon is a sheet of teflon and is used for thos same reason. To protect your platen and blank. So there is no unwanted ink bleeding to any of them. Thats all. Nothing to do with malting :-)