PDA

View Full Version : Cotten T-shirt printing, Your opion....

Robertdh31
19-09-2012, 01:35 AM
Hi all im new to printing...
I have been looking around alot the last few days and would like some advice..
What is the best way to print onto cotton?
And is cotton better than sublimations tee's
I would like to print onto baby grows, bibs and tee's
I would like it to be washable and to last...
Also some sort of cost per print would be very helpfull.

Thanks all in advanced.
Robert.

WorthDoingRight
19-09-2012, 10:15 AM
Hi Robert,

Well firstly you cannot sublimate onto a cotton shirt it has to be polyester or at least a very high proportion of polyester.

Some people do not like the feel of polyester on their skin or they consider it too warm.

So that leaves Cotton or Cotton/Polyester or Cotton/Other combinations.

So you now have heat applied flex in varous colours and even a heat applied sublimation flex as options.

You also have transfers either printed on pigment based inkjet or some colour laser printers. These tend to come in 'light' and 'dark'. 'Light' has a transparent backing and is suitable where the shirt is light coloured as the shirt colour will show through the transparent areas of the transfer. The 'Dark' variety has a white background so non printed areas will show as white. This does mean that it is common for these transfers to be contour cut (e.g. around the printed image edges) or weeded to avoid having a white square on the garment.

Transfers tend to be washable depending on transfers in up to a 60 degree wash however some are as low as a 30 degree wash.

Heat applied flex can be washed to higher temperatures often as high as 90 degrees which may be better for items people will want to boil wash!

Well down to cost - Light transfer paper is about half the price of Dark transfer paper (and some of the new self weeding Dark papers are a lot more)