PDA

View Full Version : Advice from you great people needed!

lemontdetroit84
11-10-2012, 01:36 PM
Ok so I'm new to sublimation mug printing! I am in the process of sorting out my profile with the amazing Paul who has helped me soooooo much with that issue. While I am waiting for my profile I have been messing with my mug press and I thought I would try a full colour mug just to test it out. I have a chinese mug press with no tempreture changing ability on it. When I do a full colour mug print you can see an outline of the heating elements. Im getting confused as to wether Im not cooking the mug for long enough. I have put a blank mug in for 180 seconds and then put the full colour mug in for 180 seconds. After taking out the mug it shows the outline of the heating elements that are in the wrap. The mug press I have is:

http://www.cityinkexpress.co.uk/ink-products/sublimation/machines/mug-press/mug-press---v2---ce-approved---yellow/fr-sub-004

any help would be greatly appreciated :)

socialgiraffe
11-10-2012, 01:41 PM
It sounds like the blanket you have is too cheap or the pressure is not right.

To get the pressure right you need to be able to place the mug inside the wrap and not be able to turn/rotate the mug easily. I always say, if you can turn it with one hand then it is too loose. If you can not turn it with two hands it is too tight.

If you pressure is right then I would say that the blanket is not up to the standard you or anyone else would expect.

WorthDoingRight
11-10-2012, 03:41 PM
Do not be afraid to try a sheet of plain white paper around the sublimation paper in the press. It does sound like the press is clamping too hard. Follow Simon's advice and check your clamping pressure.

jennywren
11-10-2012, 03:44 PM
Do not be afraid to try a sheet of plain white paper around the sublimation paper in the press. It does sound like the press is clamping too hard. Follow Simon's advice and check your clamping pressure.