PDA

View Full Version : Is this PixMax cutter any good

harlequeen
24-11-2012, 09:44 PM
I'm a complete novice with vinyl and cutters, so was wondering if anyone has this cutter and if they can tell me if it would be suitable for me to learn on.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/720-mm-28-Vinyl-Cutter-Plotter-Cutting-Plotter-Printer-Sign-Maker-Drivers-/251183533180?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3a7bb48c7c

Is it going to be a really steep learning curve? I was contemplating buying a silhouette, but it is quite expansive and rather limited in size.

Any comments would be appreciated.

Paul
24-11-2012, 09:52 PM
looks alright to me.

bms
24-11-2012, 09:54 PM
There is a new silhouette being launched in early December with a price of less than £200. I think it is based on the same size as the old craft robo and, again, from memory I think there is going to be some offers for launcH. The standard Cameo is also seeing a price drop, off RRP in early December I think.

viccar
25-11-2012, 02:25 PM
The cameo can cut 12" wide and up to 10 feet long.
I rarely use my 24" now, but it depends on what you want to use it for.

bms
25-11-2012, 07:06 PM
There is a new silhouette being launched in early December with a price of less than £200. I think it is based on the same size as the old craft robo and, again, from memory I think there is going to be some offers for launcH. The standard Cameo is also seeing a price drop, off RRP in early December I think.

Found these details...
The Silhouette Cameo is down to £269.99 inc vat (save £30 off RRP). The new Silhoutte Portrait is down to £179.99 inc vat (save £20 off RRP). The Portrait is a new launch cutter - same cutting force as the Cameo but based on the Craft ROBO cutting width of 200mm (8")

Craig
25-11-2012, 07:39 PM
Cameo can be got cheaper through Crate and Craft if y know anyone with membership for anyone interested in that machine

bms
25-11-2012, 09:05 PM