PDA

View Full Version : Absolute beginner - lots of questions!

MugMonster
17-04-2010, 11:08 PM
Hi all, I'm David - just thought I'd say hello before an absolute barrage of questions! I'm completely starting from scratch over here - my aim is to set up a small, local design business (thought we'd start with mugs...) for my my wife to run. She's going to be leaving her 9-5 soon and want something we can run from home.

I guess the one thing we have going for us is that I'm pretty decent with photoshop, etc and have been making a nice little trickle of income from my Cafepress/Zazzle shops for a few years - so on the design front, we're sorted (he says, being over-confident).

But I want something I've got complete control over and as I mentioned before, I'm confident in my ability to churn out good-quality, imaginative designs, but getting from the printer to the mug seems like a minefield of information to get through... so here's a list of things I don't know and would love to find out... so if anyone can help and can excuse my newbie ignorance, it'd be great to hear from you....

1. I want to start at subsistence level, churning out mug designs. How much should I budget for startup kit? I have computers/software.

2. Best place to source mugs? I've made some enquiries to chinese manufacturers - as well as the UK. Where's best?

3. Ceramic? Earthenware? Stoneware? Porcelain? Duraglazed? I'd love to know the difference and which is best for dye-sub.

4. Printers. I've read good things about the new Ricoh's. Best to aim for them or one of those bulk system thingys?

5. Is there a standard for dye-sub paper? What is it? Best brands?

6. Dishwasher safe? I don't want my stuff to be fading after a few runs. What are the cost implications of ensuring this?