PDA

View Full Version : Just got a swing press

SilentAlf
17-04-2013, 05:19 PM
Hi All,

Just got a swing heat press as i want to start printing on t-shirts and coasters/placemats, but i have never done it before.

Does anyone have any hints or tips? please :)

Many thanks,

socialgiraffe
17-04-2013, 05:29 PM
Make sure its hot :smile:

Presumably you have all the other kit and materials to start pressing so as long as you refer to the supplier guidelines then you will be fine. As with all things you will probably need to tweak but they are a good starting point.

jennywren
17-04-2013, 05:50 PM
Don't leave your hand when you close the press lol, you'll soon get use to the feel of it and start to gauge pressure. before I flash up the press I have a blank coaster to gauge the pressure and the same with the mouse mats, that way when I put on the press to work I have the pressure roughly to what I need.

SilentAlf
17-04-2013, 08:16 PM
The set up i have is a ricoh sg3110 printer with sub inks? i assume the ink is the same for pressing on t-shirts and coasters?

Jenny I will make sure my hand is not near the press lol :) Do you know a good temp and time for pressing coasters and t-shirts??

Sorry for the questions!

Renniwano
17-04-2013, 08:39 PM
If you are sublimating t-shirts these will need to be polyester and not cotton.. and for times for your blanks your best bet is the suppliers website :)

Maccbean
19-04-2013, 12:01 PM
Worse still, don't grab the heatplate to push it. I did that the first day I got mine and removed my fingerprints good time. I put a sign on that corner saying HOT and never did it again. :rolleyes:

Mossy88
19-04-2013, 03:53 PM
Make sure you check the bolts now and then on the plate to be tight enough, haha mine fell in half yesterday and couldn't pick it up of course as it was 190 degrees!

Prob because it was a cheaper one

tlworkwear
22-04-2013, 09:09 AM