PDA

View Full Version : OKI Laser Printer and Stahls Clam Basic for starters.....?

mikeoooze
23-04-2013, 05:46 PM
After a lot of deliberation and a tight budget I have decided to go with a OKI Laser Printer and Stahls Clam Basic. They are both here: http://www.targettransfers.com/d/PR07/Stahls-Clam-Basic and http://www.printerland.co.uk/OKI-C530dn-P110363.aspx.

I hope to use Wow no weed transfer papers from magic touch. I was at the NEC in Birmingham in February and was very impressed with this transfer paper. I am a complete newbie and would welcome any comments/tips i.e the best T Shirts to use Gildan, FOTL or whatever...

Cheers, Mike.

logobear
23-04-2013, 06:17 PM
Hi,
TMT have 2 wow processes, the older one uses any laser printer and 7.2 paper, and is very difficult to master, as a newbie I cannot recommend it (we struggled with 20 years laser transfere experience, really struggled!)
The new wow process uses wow 7.5 but you must have a WHITE laser printer, - eg the 711w - but that is about £2000 - but then the process is EASY ! - or at least quite easy !
Additionally, Laser transferes NEED a good press capable of very high application pressure, so that generally means an Adkins swing away, or a Geo Knight.... both about double the cost of the Stahls
The press chosen is a good clam press for sure, but they cannot generate the same even pressure of a good swing away.
For that kind of budget, you might be better avoiding laser and going for an introductory vinyl cutter, and a sublimation printer.
I cannot recommend the package you have selected for laser transferes, especially wow!

mikeoooze
23-04-2013, 06:22 PM
Thanks for that logobear. I know that the Wow 7.5 is for the white laser printer, but is it not possible to use the 7.5 with other (non white) laser printers?

logobear
23-04-2013, 06:26 PM