PDA

View Full Version : Anyone make their own Plastisol Transfers?

GoldRapt
03-06-2013, 07:18 PM
Hi all,
My screen print inks are water based so I can't make transfers.

Is anyone on here making their own Plastisol Transfers or taken it further ans become a supplier of this type of transfer please?

I am thinking of getting some Black plastisol, transfer paper and powder and having a go at making my own transfers.
What I plan to do is make line drawing transfers that I can then colour fill with my airbrush to start and if that works make multi-colour transfers.

I have no knowledge of plastisol but what I "think" I know is that is lays on top of say a t-shirt with a hard hand and has a plastic feel to it.
Does anyone know if there is there a plastisol ink that has a soft hand to it please?

GoldRapt
05-06-2013, 03:53 PM
No One ?..............

socialgiraffe
05-06-2013, 05:34 PM
As far as I know you can get a hand base softner that you mix in with plastisol ink to make it nicer.

When I tried the transfers many moons ago while running a screen print company I am pretty sure that I needed different ink, and a lot of tins of different sorts of chemicals to make them, plus the application paper. So much so that it was simply not worth it.

I wish you well though and i hope you do it.

S>

GoldRapt
05-06-2013, 05:49 PM
Thanks S, I do intend to give it a go as an experiment.

gavtheoldskater
11-09-2013, 12:07 PM
a very kind local industrial printer gave me a tour of his facility last week and showed me how they make platisol transfers. effectively print onto a release paper (greaseproof) and part cure.

googling later revealed some interesting articles, there is a good one by scott fressner, and apparently its non to difficult. the trick is in the part curing, then you hot peel for a regular screenprint effect or cold peel for a raised/textured effect.

plastisol you clean with turps apparently.

hav'nt had a chance to try it yet but plan to.

Paul
11-09-2013, 09:44 PM