PDA

View Full Version : Old Ink Purging

accent
21-05-2010, 08:00 AM
I have an Epson R290 printer with CIS using Rotech sublimation ink and the black has started to "double print" (best term i can think of), like a shadow approx 1mm horizontally offset. I have been advised by my supplier that this is caused because the ink is too old and needs to be replaced. Does this sound right? The ink would be more than 12 months old and the other colours are all working fine. I have tried cleaning and realigning the heads numerous times to no effect.

I have been given a VERY basic set of verbal instructions on how to purge the old ink from the system and replace with the new ink but i have never done this before and am not confident with the instructions given. It sounds complicated! Can anyone help? I imagine a number of issues can arise if i stuff it up (not to mention the mess and ink wastage) so i would rather get a bit more info before i attempt it if necessary.

Any info would be great! :?

bms
21-05-2010, 01:55 PM
Is this the Epson 1290? The A3 6 colour model? Haven't come across a R290 before now...

If it is the 1290 then it sounds like the black head is clogged/ worn and I wouldn't have thought replacing the ink would necessarily solve the problem. You might want to try removing the black cartridge from the printer and putting in a normal, cheap compatibe black cartridge and see if this prints fine. If that doesn't print okay then the head is the problem and I/ we can then go to the next stage (but the chances of getting it back to printing perfect start to diminish)

Can you please confirm the model number before you go down this route - if it isn't the 1290 then the advice might be different.

TransferGraeme
21-05-2010, 05:44 PM