PDA

View Full Version : Cutter Blades / suppliers

FutureProject
30-12-2013, 12:42 PM
Which blades do people use? / suppliers

I've been running kingcut cutters for over 6 years now with my sign writing business and blades have never been an issue, I just bought the cheapest and only had to change them once in a blue moon..

Now I'm doing more garment vinyl than stickers I'm noticing the blades wear out very quick (my scalpel blades wear a lot quicker too!)

Obviously with Christmas bringing me a 500% increase in sales I've noticed it much more so I've decided to see if there's a better blade, or if I just need to stock up on blades and suck it up.

so what prices do people pay for blades? where should I be looking to buy them.. and other questions I've not asked. ;)

arko
30-12-2013, 01:20 PM
Ive been using Roland blades in my cutter for £8.99 (for 5) from fleabay.

FutureProject
30-12-2013, 01:28 PM
problem with ebay is I can buy 5 blades for £10 from UK or I can buy 15 for £11 from China, they turn out to be the same product / packaging so the quality can't be judged by price. (I did this recently as I needed some asap so purchased 5 UK based, and 15 from china which could take time to get to me.)

Roland is often stated as compatibility with the pen rather than the brand of blade, I'm happy to change holder if needs be (I use a roland holder from my RX8 and also have a kingcut holder which takes blades with a fatter shaft (oo-err-missus))

Renniwano
30-12-2013, 09:42 PM
I have a Black Cat cougar.. buy the named blades and you are looking at around £20 for 5 BUT get the exact same blades that are actually Roland blades.. and you get 5 for £9

So I decided to stock up and go cheap - they've lasted just as long too ;)

Sdj
08-04-2014, 03:31 PM
have a look at Martor, we get all our blades from those guys

Frostee
08-04-2014, 08:31 PM