PDA

View Full Version : Rip off Postage Charges

mysticalvibes
02-07-2010, 10:50 AM
Hi all, just wondering if anyone else is getting ripped off on postage charges? I live in Northern Ireland were there is a great shortage of sublimation suppliers so therefore have to get my stock from mainland U.K. However the delivery charges I am been charged are ridiculas. £13.50 for a box of 20 baby bibs (750g), £7.50 for 1m of vinyl (others can get it here for £3.50), £13.50 for 15 coasters, 20 0.5mm fridge magnets and few other small items!!!

I know it easy to say that I should buy from whoever has the cheapest postage options, but this also creates problems as different suppliers have different stock items meaning that you can end up paying a couple of delivery charges. I've been selling on ebay since 2003 and have a pretty good knowledge of postal charges so find some delivery charges a bit hard to swallow. I'm temped to name and shame those in question as I weigh every parcel I receive and check the true delivery costs which on occassions can be half of what I've been charged! I know there are also packing charges to take into consideration but unless I'm paying about £7 for a second hand cardboard box theres definately something wrong. Most times I don't need a 24 / 48 hours service so why is it forced upon me? Whatever ever happened to good old standard parcel service & charging your customer the true cost rather than trying to profit more from postage???

Davy

Kaz
02-07-2010, 10:59 AM
Davy

As a seller, you should know that couriers charge more to send to NI.

And suppliers realise that sometimes you want your items in a hurry, you don't wan't to have to wait days on end for them to arrive, I know I don't, if I'm ordering something, it's usually because I've ran out and need the item PDQ.

All the items you mention, I can get from the same supplier, therefore the delivery charge should be less as only 1 charge.

If you know someone charges a lot, don't use them again.